Strafford is a town located in the Southeastern part of New Hampshire in the Seacoast region of the state. It is situated in the Western portion of Strafford County and encompasses a total area of 51.4 square miles, 2.2 of which is water. As of the 2010 United States Census, Strafford was home to 3,991 people.
The land that now comprises Strafford was once a part of the nearby town of Barrington. It was officially incorporated as its own town in 1820, gleaning its name from the county in which it was established. The town includes two villages, known as Center Strafford and Bow Lake Village and was once the home of Charles Simic, a U.S. poet laureate. In its earlier year, a local state militia company adopted the town’s name, calling themselves the Strafford Guards. The Strafford Guards have since been incorporated into the New Hampshire National Guard.
Strafford contains just over 2 miles of water, which accounts for just 4.38 percent of its total area. The town includes Bow Lake, Isinglass River, Big River and Berrys River. Its highest point is located at Parker Mountain, where elevation reaches 1,420 feet about sea level.
The town of Strafford is governed by an elected Board of Selectmen. It boasts a full-time police department, a volunteer fire department and volunteer emergency medical services. Top employers in the area include: David R. Whitcher, Builder; Strafford Machine & Welding; Amusement Media Inc. Isinglass Country Store; Strafford Insulating Technologies; Great Crates; and Sheilah’s Deli and Market. Children in the area attend the Strafford School for grades kindergarten through eighth. For ninth through 12th grade, the town pays their tuition to attend Coe-Brown Academy, located in nearby Northwood. For recreation and entertainment, Strafford residents can take advantage of the town’s performing arts facilities, youth organizations and sports leagues, campgrounds, fishing and hunting areas, boating marinas, snowmobile trails and local beaches.